Jump to Navigation
Freephone 0808 250 7442
Mon-Thu 8am-8pm, Fri 8am-6:30pm, Sat 9am-5pm, Sun 10am-4pm
Find your trip...

Tourism chiefs highlight South Africa's World Heritage sites

South Africa has a plethora of fantastic places to see - many of which can boast World Heritage status.

In order to qualify for the accreditation, countries must apply to Unesco and demonstrate that an area provides "outstanding universal value".

World Heritage status is also dished out to landmarks that are deemed to be architectural masterpieces or an important natural habitat. The main point of the system is to offer better protection to certain parts of the world that are thought to be special for whatever reason.

People taking South Africa holidays can visit no less than eight places that have already been granted the status, including Robben Island and the Cape Floral Kingdom.

Tourism minister in the nation Marthinus van Schalkwyk believes it is important that travellers recognise the significance of these regions.

"We as a country are proud to be amongst the leading countries in Africa with eight World Heritage sites," he remarked.